INEC to conduct by-elections in 4 constituencies


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced its intention to organize four by-elections across the country. These elections will take place in four federal and state constituencies. The decision to hold these by-elections comes shortly after the conclusion of the 2023 general election.

During a meeting with the Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs), INEC Chairman Mahmoud Yakubu explained that the need for these by-elections arose due to the resignations of some lawmakers and the unfortunate deaths of others.

He further stated that despite the ongoing review of the 2023 General Election and the recent inauguration of the National and State Houses of Assembly, INEC is already confronted with the task of conducting these by-elections.

The affected constituencies include Surulere 1 Federal Constituency in Lagos State, Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency in Taraba State, Chibok State Constituency in Borno State, and Chikun State Constituency in Kaduna State. Mr. Yakubu assured that INEC would soon begin engaging stakeholders in preparation for these off-cycle elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *